Written by grimbo

Print this

Friday, 15 April 2011

image for Scotland's Player Of The Year Nominations

Scottish journalists have announced the short list for the 2010/11 player of the year.

The Top 4 are Celtic's Gary Hooper and Emilio Izaguirre, Rangers' Steven Naismith and Kilmarnock's Alexei Eremenko.

There is no great surprise that the majority of the nominees hail from the Old Firm, the only real novelty in the selection is that one of the final four does actually come from outwith the big two.

Chairman of the Football Writers' Panel Brian O' Halloran explains :

"Its obvious that the best players will always come from the Old Firm, this opinion does not stem from many kind of favouritism, its just a fact.

That's the way its always been, that's the way it always be.

I dread to think what would happen if Rangers and Celtic ever left the Scottish Premier League, we probably wouldn't present this award any more".

O'Halloran finished by concluding that the only reason Killie's Eremenko was on the short list was because he had stated in public that he would only stay in Scottish football next season if Rangers or Celtic signed him.

Make grimbo's day - give this story five thumbs-up (there's no need to register, the thumbs are just down there!)

The story above is a satire or parody. It is entirely fictitious.

If you fancy trying your hand at comedy spoof news writing, click here to join!

Print this


Mailing List

Get Spoof News in your email inbox!


What's 5 plus 4?

4 5 9 14

Go to top