Written by Spoons

Print this
Topics: World Cup, argentina

Wednesday, 19 November 2008

image for 1966 World Cup awarded to Argentina
Aregentinian celebrations

In the light of recent revelations by Argentina boss Diego Maradonna the 1966 World Cup has been awarded to Argentina as all the other teams were disqualified.

The shocking revelation that England tried to claim a goal when the ball hadn't crossed the line lead to their disqualification. West Germany were also disqualified for one of their players having a slightly darker coloured shirt than the others.

Losing semi finalists Portugal and USSR were disqualified when it emerged that they both tried to kick off before the referee was ready. Losing Quarter Finalists Hungary, North Korea and Uruguay were also disqualified for all coming out late for the second half of their games with Hungary the worst offenders being 17 seconds over the alotted time.

This left only Argentina from the quarter finalists who had an exemplary disciplinary record in the competition and displayed sportmanship throughout. "We overlooked that misunderstanding with Rattin when the referee mistook his identity and it was probably not only him that was continually scything opponents down" said officials.

Maradonna said "I'm glad the record has finally been put straight and I had was able to have a hand in it".

Argentina later beat Scotland 35-0 when the referee failed to spot that all the Scotland players had been tied in the goal net by the Argentinians early on in the game. "I didn't see who did it at the time so you have to play on" said the Ref.

Make Spoons's day - give this story five thumbs-up (there's no need to register, the thumbs are just down there!)

The story above is a satire or parody. It is entirely fictitious.

If you fancy trying your hand at comedy spoof news writing, click here to join!

Print this


Mailing List

Get Spoof News in your email inbox!


What's 1 multiplied by 5?

9 5 11 12

Go to top