Written by Nick Hobbs
Print this

Friday, 27 August 2010

image for Slayer To Release Covers Album
Slayer rock, duuude!!!

Slayer, the seminal Bay Area thrash metal superstars, are to release a new album of cover songs this autumn.

The four piece band, whose songs include 'Reign In Blood', 'Dead Skin Mask' and 'God Hates Us All', have decided to re-record some of their favourite tunes from artists who have inspired them over the years.

The first tune to be released is a cover of Take That's 'Relight My Fire'. Other hits to get the Slayer treatment are 'Night Fever' by The Bee Gees, 'It's Raining Men' by 80's starlets The Weather Girls and 'Tipsy' by J-Kwon.

Guitarist and slappy-headed, beardy rock God, Kerry King, told us "we thought long and hard about which songs to cover, as albums like this can become a bit lame. We want to keep the original idea of each song, but Slayerfy them a bit!"

'Wishing On A Star' by Rose Royce, has become a firm favourite at their concerts, but it will not appear on the album.

"We may use it as a B-side to one of the singles, or we may not," said Tom Araya, lead shouty bloke and bassist.

The album, tentatively titled 'Covered In Blood: Songs Of Inspiration And Necrophilia, Volume I' will be released in November.

Rumours that Susan Boyle is to join the band on a cover of her hit 'I Dreamed A Dream', from Les Miserables, have not been confirmed.

Make Nick Hobbs's day - give this story five thumbs-up (there's no need to register, the thumbs are just down there!)

The story above is a satire or parody. It is entirely fictitious.

Do you dream of being a comedy news writer? Click here to be a writer!

More by this writer

View Story
View Story
View Story
View Story
View Story
View Story


Mailing List

Get Spoof News in your email inbox!


What's 2 multiplied by 1?

7 2 9 10
40 readers are online right now!

Go to top

We use cookies to give you the best experience, this includes cookies from third party websites and advertisers.

Continue ? Find out more