The makers of the Alpine brand of muesli have announced that they will soon be producing a vegetarian version of their famous muesli breakfast cereal. Whereas standard Alpine, and indeed most makes of muesli contain approximately two percent meat products, the new version will contain none at all.
A spokesperson from Alpine explained. "Traditional muesli has always contained meat. In fact the original muesli was made by Alpine goat herders and contained as much as 50% dried and cured goat meat - it's what they had available."
He went on to say that nowadays the meat content is much reduced. "It usually consists of meat-based flavourings, plus a small amount of dried salt pork. The amount and type of meat varies from product to product. The thing is, provided it accounts for less than three percent by volume, we don't have to list it in the ingredients."
The new version of Alpine will at last make it possible for vegetarians to eat a muesli cereal.
"At Alpine we are getting really excited by this new vegetarian version. It was a challenge to retain the flavour without any meat at all, but by using a special mock meat mycoprotein combined with an umami flavouring derived from soy sauce, a completely vegetarian muesli is possible. The only thing we would say is that the new vegetarian Alpine shouldn't be given to children because they don't have the powerful enzymes in their digestive systems capable of breaking down the new ingredients."